Hong Kong: Mui Kee Congee (妹記生滾粥品)

Last December(2012), we went on a holiday trip with my mother-in-law to Hong Kong for an eating & shopping spree. It was a free & easy trip with my hubby as the tour guide. 🙂 Armed with a guide book and a map, there we go. One of our favorite eats is definitely at this congee store at the local market. Mui Kee Congee (妹記生滾粥品).

MKC-1

Being not a local, this little gem was truly difficult to find. We thought that this was a eating house so after an hour of walking around and asking around, we only realized that its on the third level of the local wet market. But the time was all totally WORTH it. We started off with a plate of fish skin.

MKC-2

My hubby totally adores fried fish skin so when it turned out to be fresh fish skin he was rather put off by it. I was initially quite skeptical too. However my motto in life, “if you don’t try it now, when will it be. ” and this definitely cannot be compared with what Andrew Zimmern from Bizzare Foods puts in his mouth right? And that was it. I picked up a piece with some ginger shreds and put it in my mouth. I was blown over by it. Nothing like what I had imagined it to be (slimy & fishy). It was WELL MARINATED!!! Slightly salty and fragrant from the soya sauce and sesame oil, crunchy (I believe they had submerged it in icy cold water) and the freshness from the shredded ginger and spring onion. When submerged into the pipping hot congee, it became soft and tender. Fish skin eating has definitely been brought to an entire new level for me. I have never eaten fish skin prepared this way in Singapore before. I just simply love it.

MKC-3

The highlight is definitely the congee. Thick and silky smooth, every mouthful is such a delight.

MKC-4

Each time the congee glides down effortlessly down your throat, you will just like to follow up with an oooh…. and arrrr…….. It just brings me so much joy and cravings recalling it. Not to mention the generous helpings of ingredients in the congee, it is definitely good value for $$ (if you’re traveling on a budget). This congee is my mum-in-law’s favourite that till today, she can’t stop talking about it and asking when we can go again.

MKC-5

See her smiling face. 🙂 We tried the Mix Pork Congee, Fish Belly Congee, Meatball Congee. They were all seriously GOOOOOOOD…………….

The rice flour rolls are a must try. Too bad I was busy eating so no photo of this was taken (Managed to retrieve from my mum-in-law’s mobile :)). Soft and springy, it’s again nothing like I had eaten in my life in Singapore. I love the sauce mixture of sweet and salty. Especially the dash of sesame sesame sauce put in it, giving it a really fragrant touch. Imagine with your eyes close. The fragrance of sesame running amok through your nose lingering in there, the sweet and salty sauce playing through your entire mouth tingling on the tip and sides of your tongue. Bite into the soft, smooth yet springy rice flour rolls. The experience is truly sensational. I have truly and really fallen in love with the unseemly simple rice flour rolls. 🙂

How to get there

Fa Yuen Street Market, 3 Level                                                                                       Mong Kok , Kowloon                                                                                                           Hong Kong, China                                                                                                                 Tel: 852-27890198                                                                                                           (Nearest Train Station: Mong Kok MTR. Exit at D2 and walk to Fa Yuen Street Mkt (花園街). Head towards the end of the road.)

I am not sure if I have managed to convince you on how good is that but during our 5 days 4 nights in Hong Kong, we went there for breakfast twice. 🙂

2 responses to “Hong Kong: Mui Kee Congee (妹記生滾粥品)

  1. I have always dreamed of going to Hong kong but I don’t know if I’ll ever get there. Fried or marinated fish skin-never heard of it including congee, what is the congee made from? rice flour? Thanks for sharing!

    • Liz, hong kong is like a food paradise for us. They have all the asian food that we like. I hope I didn’t gross u out with the food :). Congee is like porridge. It is cook using short grain rice with water n stock over medium low fire n continuous stirring till thick.

Leave a comment